Confirmation Biases

Naomi Ordonez
Naomi’s Writing Space
2 min readFeb 13, 2023

Confirmation bias is people’s inclination to process information by looking for and/or interpreting information that is consistent with their pre-existing beliefs. Confirmation bias is often fueled by stereotypes and influences how we interpret the world. Take me for example; I am Mexican and am frequently met with stereotypes. To confirm stereotypes people have of Mexicans, I get asked all kinds of personal questions that I do not believe other people experience. For example, on numerous occasions, people have asked me, “you’re Catholic, right?” or flat-out go with the assumption that I am Catholic. So when I say I am not Catholic nor religious, there seems to be an element of disappointment due to not fueling their confirmation bias based on pre-existing stereotypes. Another stereotype I consistently encounter is the assumption that I have multiple siblings and a large family. However, I am an only child, which contradicts the stereotype of Hispanics having many children. Again, people are mainly shocked when I tell them this fact about me and proceed to ask me, “why?”

I say all this because I have experienced biases and stereotypes first-hand, which changes how I interpret the world. I now recognize that no matter what you do, someone will always have an assumption about who you are. Recognizing these biases is essential when it comes to producing quality writing because the writer will know their audience and be able to cater the information out in a correct manner. Also, recognizing bias is an important skill for consumers and sharers of news and information because misinformation can quickly spread if not careful.

--

--

Naomi Ordonez
Naomi’s Writing Space

I am graduating senior at High Point University with a major in Strategic Communication and a minor in Chinese.