Fool!

Silly goose, you thought you could love a disordered partner back to wellness?

--

Kelly Sikkema

Fool — “a person who acts unwisely or imprudently; a silly person.”

We all do foolish things, but it’s something else altogether when a person is defined as a fool. Within weeks after my husband suddenly discarded me, I received a text message with one word. You guessed it. It said, “Fool.”

Considering the amount of pain that I was suffering at the time, it made everything just a tiny bit worse. Imagine a person who has just received a gunshot wound to the chest and is bleeding out, standing knee-deep in a pool of blood. Someone comes along with a really sharp piece of paper and slices their finger. The intention is to cause that person injury. The effect is that you look at the paper cut with the little traces of blood coming to the surface while the other hand is grasping and clutching the chest and trying to press on the major arteries that are gushing. You throw your head back and laugh at the futility of that assault. “Can’t you see I’m dying here? Can’t you see I have an open gash in my chest the size of Texas? What do you think this paper cut’s gonna do? Really? That’s all you’ve got?”

In retrospect, I’m sure it was one of his new girlfriends who had bought into the narrative…

--

--

Prajinta Pesqueda
Narcissistic Abuse Recovery Collaborators

Educator, aspiring humanist, composer of words. Survivor, warrior, healer, believer. Contact me at Narc2Thrive@gmail.com