A Miracle at Turner Falls in Oklahoma

Can ordinary people perform miracles?

Rasheed Hooda
The Narrative

--

Turner Falls, Oklahoma by Rasheed Hooda

I first visited Turner Falls in Oklahoma when I was in college. It is located in the Arbuckle Mountains, about 60 miles south of Oklahoma City. My College was in Alva, Oklahoma, 150 miles northwest of Oklahoma City, not too far away.

My friend Cathy Thorsen, aka Celebriticat, used to visit them whenever she took her homeschooled son on basketball tournaments in Oklahoma City.

When I took the above photo, it was a drought year. It doesn’t do justice to the beauty I initially saw that took my breath away and keeps bringing me back.

I was going to Sedona, Arizona, to attend the Joyfully Jobless Weekend, a program led by my mentors Barbara Winter and Terri Belford. Cathy loves the energy of Sedona. I knew that from her visit a year earlier. So, I talked her into a follow-up visit. We pooled our resources and hit the road. We planned to take a different route back to visit Turner Falls, Oklahoma, on our return trip.

After the conference, we visited the Grand Canyon and stayed in Flagstaff for the night. Then we headed east, and after driving all day, spent the night in Amarillo, Texas, before continuing. The gray skies that we’d seen when we left Flagstaff the day before were still lingering on, along with occasional…

--

--

Rasheed Hooda
The Narrative

Self-proclaimed weirdo. Jack of Many Trades, Master of Some. Author, Speaker, Photographer. He walked on Route 66 Chicago to L.A. https://ko-fi.com/misterweirdo