Eddie Murphy: Secret to Longevity

Eddie Murphy credits his endurance to being grounded in God and family…

Joseph Serwach
The Narrative

--

Eddie Murphy photo by David Shankbone via Wikimedia Commons.

Eddie Murphy has been a superstar since he was 19, saving “Saturday Night Live’’ from cancellation. When he came back to host in December, ratings hit records.

Most agree he is in a league of his own. What’s Eddie Murphy’s secret? Giving the credit to something bigger than himself.

“I’ve always been really comfortable in my skin,’’ Murphy told CBS. “It’s because I’ve always been grounded spiritually. I believe in God and I believe in prayer.’’

Asked if he prays daily, Murphy said:

“Yeah, I pray all the time, you know. I pray all the time. You don’t have to like, get down on your knees, and pray. You can pray wherever…’’

Most show business people lack that grounding in something higher than themselves, he said.

“You know what I’ve found?’’ Murphy said. “A lot of people in show business that get really successful at an early age. A lot of them go through a lot of stuff and have issues and drug problems and all this and are self-destructive. And I never had that because I was grounded spiritually.’’

He’s also feels grounded by having 10 children…

--

--

Joseph Serwach
The Narrative

Story + Identity = Mission. Leadership Culture, Journalism, Branding Education. Inspiration: Catholic, Polish. https://serwachjoe.medium.com/membership