How to Create a Star Map for a Completely Different Universe

Lynda Wallis
The Narrative
Published in
5 min readDec 11, 2019

--

Star Map of the Nighting Empyrean by Lynda Wallis

As a rabid, lifelong reader of science fiction, I confess that visiting other worlds, realms, and star systems is no leap for me. I am there. Honestly I never understood why so much money has been and is still being spent on Mars missions. If people want to know about Mars they should simply read the “Martian Chronicles” by Ray Bradbury. Mars, brought to life by Bradbury is so incredibly real. My father handed me the family copy of Madeleine L’Engle’s “A Wrinkle in Time” when I turned ten. There was no turning back for me.

When I saw the freelance posting looking for an artist/mapmaker to create a star map; the project simply had to be mine.

The client wanted to see samples of potential artist work before deciding who to hire. I made this little bunny star map to show the potential client what I would bring to the project. I got the job.

Bunny Star map I created to get the job, by Lynda Wallis

JF Smith constructed the universe of the Nighting Empyrean, complete with a very precise and detailed complex star system with very specific constellations. Each constellation had its own own backstory of rich interconnecting myths. The story written by JF takes place on a pre-industrial…

--

--

Lynda Wallis
The Narrative

Deeply rooted in the mid west, I write about little things — everything is a little thing-art, the creative process, the natural world, and love.