My Top Three Stories from December in Four Different Criteria

The top 3 in views, earnings, read ratio, and fans.

Rasheed Hooda
The Narrative
4 min readJan 2, 2020

--

Photo by Cinematic Imagery on Unsplash

I published a total of 36 stories in December. That’s 3 X 12.

Only three of them were curated. Gotta start somewhere, right?

Three of them were taken from my book, Life: It’s a Trip.

Three were inspired by my photos (when I couldn’t think of anything else).

Three were about my travels.

Three of them were poems.

I didn’t plan it that way; I just observed it as I was looking for the top three stories.

Here are the three most-viewed stories.

My most viewed story of the month had 116 views, and it is the first one that was curated without having to submit it to a significant pub.

This one was published in The Ascent. It generated 90 views and was also curated.

Wouldn’t you know it? #3 most viewed story was also curated via P.S. I love You. It is the first poem I published, and it generated75 views.

I guess it is true that being curated helps with getting exposure.

The top three moneymakers.

My top earner wasn’t even written in December. I wrote it in November, and it was the top earner in November as well. As a matter of fact, it out-earned my top three December stories combined. This is the reason I am excited about the new MPP. This is the reason writers who want to make money with their writing write, residual income.

Of the top three earners amongst the ones I wrote in December, two were curated, and are the top viewed stories. The third curated piece didn’t earn much because, I believe, it’s a poem. I am listing below, the third top moneymaker from December’s production.

The top three: Views to read ratio

Cumulatively, I had a 56% view to read ratio in December. My views for December were up by 60% from November.

None of my curated stories garnered high read ratios. They ranged from 31% to 47%.

On the other hand, the highest read ratio also had the lowest number of views for the month.

The top one had a 100% read ratio, and half of those readers clapped for it. So, I think I must not have done any promotion for it.

The next one had an average number of views. When I divided the total views by 36 (number of articles published), this one was right there. So, I would say I am going to set that to be my goal. 81%

At number three, with a 75% read ratio, the following was the median of all stories viewed, meaning, there were 17 stories with fewer views and 18 with more views. Interestingly enough, half the readers clapped for this one also.

The top three fan’s favorites

A fan, according to Medium, is a reader who claps for your story and is unique. Regardless of how many times they clap, they’re only counted once.

The three stories below had 11 fans each. Two out of three were not even curated. I don’t know if it means anything or not; I’ll have to have more data before I can come to any conclusions.

The last one is the only one I have linked twice in this story. It is the only one that qualified for three out of the four criteria I have used.

Thank you for reading. I’ve spent a lot of time putting this list together. Please leave a comment on whether or not you gained any useful insights from it. We are all learning about the new MPP, and your feedback will help me and others as well.

You can let others tell you what it means to be successful, or you can decide it for yourself.”

If you agree, you’ll like my free weekly emails. Get it here >>> Freedom Lifestyle

--

--

Rasheed Hooda
The Narrative

Self-proclaimed weirdo. Jack of Many Trades, Master of Some. Author, Speaker, Photographer. He walked on Route 66 Chicago to L.A. https://ko-fi.com/misterweirdo