The Importance of Being Present

Pablo Camacho
The Narrative
Published in
3 min readAug 22, 2020

--

The basics of human interaction.

Photo by Felix Rostig on Unsplash

Never before has it been easier to form connections. The internet. Social media. FaceTime. Fast transportation. It seems like it’s almost impossible at this point to ever reach a moment when you are completely by yourself. But then, why do so many of our interactions feel empty at times? How can we still feel lonely even as we are actively engaging with someone?

We’re forgetting about the quality of connection.

I was recently trying to make plans with a friend, but the communication was awfully slow and our schedules never matched. I was patient and I understood that things just happen, so I kept trying to coordinate those plans. One day, my friend texted me back saying, “I’m so sorry that I suck. I’ve been really busy and I’m slow at responding because I try to be present in all that I do.”

After reading this, I was actually… not bothered at all. If anything, it finally hit me. To some, the simple things may not seem important, but it’s those same things that make a monumental difference in human interaction. To be present doesn’t just mean being physically present. Sometimes people who are sitting inches apart can feel the furthest from each other because their minds and thoughts are pulled a thousand miles in separate directions.

--

--

Pablo Camacho
The Narrative

Storyteller. Poet. I (mostly) write about love, self-discovery, personal growth, and creativity. Award-winning author of eight books: philosopherbynight.com