The Reason I Replay Old Video Games Over And Over Again

It really has a lot to do with familiarity and comfort

Benny Lim
The Narrative
Published in
5 min readFeb 22, 2020

--

I have this habit of replaying old video games that I’ve played tons of times. Retro games like the Shining Force series from the SEGA Genesis console, Final Fantasy VII, VIII, IX and X of the Sony PS1 and Sony PS2 consoles, and the YS Series from SEGA to the Nintendo Switch.

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve played some of those games. I think for Final Fantasy VII, I’ve probably played it from start to finish on more than 10 occasions. From the original on PS1 to playing it on the PC, then on the Sony PS Vita, PS4, and finally, on the Nintendo Switch, I’ve replayed that classic game over and over again without even once feeling bored and tired of it.

But also, do keep in mind that all these times of me playing it have been over the span of 22 years.

My habit of replaying old video games annoys the living crap out of my younger brother.

He’s an avid gamer and will never miss the latest games when it comes out, be it on PC, PS, XBOX of Switch. He owns all of those consoles and there have been times where I’ve caught him playing games on his PC, PS4, AND Switch at the SAME time. That’s a whole different level of commitment to his games.

--

--

Benny Lim
The Narrative

Medium writer since 2019, writing my way to a better life, and helping you lead a better life, one article at a time. https://iambennylim.medium.com/membership