Three years and I’m still living

Leslie Lozada
The Narrative
Published in
2 min readJun 19, 2020

--

Photo by Syarafina Yusof on Unsplash

There is a truth that I have, that sometimes it’s painful to admit to out loud. Today is the third year anniversary where I decided to reinvent my life, coming from one of the most painful times in my life. I have told people what had happen, thought in small doses as to not overwhelm them and myself. I don’t want to trigger people while telling my testimony, as I have seen happen time and again.

I had help from strangers who didn’t really knew me, but knew of the struggles I was going through. Sometimes people surprise you, in the best way possible. I have faced all sorts of humanity in those early months.

Of course, in the end it was my choice. I wanted to, more than anything, to get away from this situation.

That morning when I was in the middle of a crowd of people, and saw them going through their day. My mind raced a million miles within 5 minutes at the thought of going through what I went through. Of going through the rest of my week, waiting for a perceived slip-up on my part. A mistake that supposedly needed to be corrected. And I knew I had to make the right choice.

And I did.

--

--

Leslie Lozada
The Narrative

A writer from the tender age of 10. Writer, editor for Medium and Editor In Chief of NEIU’s Independent. Connection: https://linktr.ee/theLeslieLozada