We Needed This.

My experience at AfroTech 2016

Melita Little
Nasdaq Design
3 min readNov 17, 2016

--

Because this was the first annual AfroTech, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I couldn’t scroll through last year’s hashtags to get a feel for what it’s about. All I knew is that it was a great idea. After particularly upsetting election results, I was looking forward to be surrounded by people of color with similar interests.

AfroTech is described as “a two-day educational conference connecting founders, techies and employees with the fastest-growing tech startups.”

My background is in non-profit communications, so I’ve never attended a tech conference of any kind, but I couldn’t help but think the atmosphere had a certain air of optimism and positivity. I could immediately tell the other attendees were as hopeful as I was about the weekend.

Key Themes:

The theme of the weekend centered around entrepreneurship and launching your tech start-up. Their advice:

Think creatively.

When Amp.it creator, Derrick Ashong, had trouble convincing entertainment execs that they needed his user tracking technology, he decided to show them rather than tell them. The Amp.it team created an online video that used their tracking technology to show them how it worked. That video got them an Emmy nomination and new investors.

Design for your audience, not Palo Alto.

That’s an abbreviation of a larger sentiment Derrick talked about during his panel. And it was reiterated during the AMA with the founder of Pinterest, Ben Silbermann. When he was trying to build steam among investors, a lot of them questioned the viability of a product designed predominantly for women. Instead of altering his product to widen his target audience and please the investors, he showed them how the product was already working for the users with live demos. He even made it personal by sending doubters proof that people they know in real life were using Pinterest — putting a face on the audience.

Do what you love.

It’s a cliche and also easier said than done, but it’s true. I learned from the “Being a digital brand in the media landscape” panel that that sentiment applies not only to your day to day work, but also the company you’re working for. BuzzFeed content creator, Quinta B said, “Buzzfeed is like my boyfriend. I bring something to the table and they bring something to the table.” That thought motivates/reminds me to bring everything I have to the table and to also take advantage of everything the company I work for has to offer.

Everette Taylor (Skurt), Quinta B (BuzzFeed), and Rashad Drakeford (Revolt)

From a developer’s standpoint, if you are your audience, you probably like and understand your audience — creating a more successful product. Evita Robinson of Nomadness Travel Tribe spoke passionately about her love of travel and deep desire to have shared experiences with her travel companions, nicknamed “The Tribe”. Her approach worked and grew her community from a couple hundred to 15,000 worldwide.

David King (Airbnb) inteviewing Evita Robinson of Nomadness Travel Tribe

In all, I was impressed at both the quality of speakers and content. It’s hard to believe it was the first ever AfroTech. I’m looking forward to attending next year. After feeling largely out of control of the direction my country was taking, it was both surreal and empowering to be surrounded by young, Black professionals who were already shaping the tech industry.

Ayyyeeee!

What were some of your takeaways? What are you hoping for next year?

Personally, I’m hoping for more engineering panels like this one. Moderator: Blavity Co-founder and CTO, Jeff Nelson; Chamara Paul, Software Engineer at Uber; Kaanon MacFarlane, Software Engineer at Pinterest; Damien Peters, Product Manager at Facebook, Erica Joy Baker, Build and Release Engineer at Slack

--

--

Melita Little
Nasdaq Design

Content Writer/Strategist, *Certified* Full House Expert