The Result of Loyalty

Tālib al‘ilm ; an epistemophile
Naseeha Channel
Published in
4 min readFeb 3, 2021

There was once a Sahaabiyyah from the tribe of Daus who was known as Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha). She accepted Islam during the month of Ramadhaan and wished to perform hijrah to Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wasallam). She thus came out, searching for someone to accompany her on the journey to Madeenah Munawwarah.

She met a Jew who asked her, “What is the matter, O Ummu Shareek?” She replied, “I am looking for a person who will accompany me to Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wasallam).” The Jew volunteered saying, “Come, I will accompany you!” Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha) responded, “Wait for me while I fill my waterskin.” The Jew replied, “I have water with me – you do not need to get (your own) water.”

She thus set out with the Jew, traveling the entire day until the evening. When night set in, the Jew spread the dastarkhaan (eating cloth) for supper. He called out, “O Ummu Shareek! Come and eat supper!” Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha) said, “Give me water to drink as I am extremely thirsty. I will not be able to eat until I do not first drink some water.” Hearing this, the Jew said, “I will not give you any water to drink until you become a Jew!”

Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha) replied, “May Allah Ta‘ala not grant you any reward! You have brought me far out and prevented me from bringing my own water (thus placing me in tremendous difficulty)!” The Jew was adamant and again insisted, “By Allah! I will not give you a single drop of water unless you become a Jew!” However, Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha) was steadfast and retorted, “By Allah! I will never become a Jew after Allah Ta‘ala has guided me to Islam!”

Saying this, she went to her camel and tied it, she then placed her head on its knee and went to sleep. After falling off to sleep, she was suddenly awakened as a cool bucket touched her forehead. On raising her head, she saw that the bucket contained water that was whiter than milk and sweeter than honey. She drank from the bucket, until her thirst was satiated, and thereafter sprinkled some of the water onto her waterskin. Once the waterskin was wet and she had filled it, the bucket began to rise before her, and she watched as it disappeared into the sky.

The following morning, when the Jew came to her, she said, “By Allah – Allah Ta‘ala gave me water to drink!” The Jew asked, “From where did He send this water, from the sky?” She replied, “Yes, by Allah! Allah Ta‘ala sent water to me from the sky. Thereafter, it was raised before me, and I watched as it disappeared back into the sky.”

When Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha) came to Madeenah Munawwarah, she related the entire incident to Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wasallam).

Once, Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha) had a skin filled with ghee which she wished to gift to Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wasallam). She thus said to her slave girl, “Take this skin (of ghee) to Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wasallam) and say to him, ‘Ummu Shareek conveys salaam to you, and this is a skin of ghee which we would like to present to you as a gift.’”

Accordingly, the slave girl proceeded to Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wasallam) and did as instructed. The gift of the ghee was accepted, and all the ghee was emptied from the skin. Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wasallam) then returned the empty skin to her and said, “Hang the skin and do not seal it closed.” The slave girl thus returned to the home of Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha) and hung the skin in its normal place.

When Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha) entered, she found the skin hanging in its place. Moreover, it was full of ghee! Thinking that the slave girl had not fulfilled her instruction of giving it to Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wsallam) as a gift, she called her and asked, “Did I not tell you to take this skin to Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wasallam)” The slave girl replied, “By Allah! I took it as you instructed! Thereafter, when I brought it back, I held it upside-down and not even a single drop of ghee fell out (i.e. it was completely empty). However, Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wasallam) said, ‘Hang it, and do not seal it.’ I thus hung it in its place.”

On the side of Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha), when she found the skin hanging and full, she sealed it, not knowing the instruction of Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alaihi wasallam). They then continued to consume from the ghee until it became depleted (had she not sealed the skin, they would have enjoyed immense barakah and the ghee would have not depleted for a very lengthy period).

(Dalaa-ilun Nubuwwah lil Baihaqi #2375)

Lesson

Allah Ta‘ala has complete control over everything. When He wishes to assist a person, He does not require a means or excuse to do so. Just as He helped Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha) from the unseen when she seemed helpless, He can help us and solve all our problems. However, in order to enjoy His special help and assistance, we must show Him faithfulness and loyalty like Sayyidah Ummu Shareek (radhiyallahu ‘anha), by remaining steadfast on Deen and obeying all His commands.

--

--

Tālib al‘ilm ; an epistemophile
Naseeha Channel

The Path to knowledge is lengthy and it is a lifetime project, The seeker of knowledge will continue to seek until he meets Allah. ربِّ زِدْنِي عِلْماً