3 Feminist Writers I Look To For Real Talk

Carmen Rios on The Coquette, Rachel Kincaid, & Sesali Brown

Kayla E.
Nat. Brut

--

This post is part of a Nat. Brut series in which feminist writers, artists, and activists discuss people, publications, or organizations who are working toward inclusivity. Today, Carmen Rios shares her choices.

The Coquette

The Coquette / Image source: more.dearcoquette.com

“…she’s…a truly raucous, wild, and unabashedly independent voice.”

I found The Coquette years ago, when I wasn’t even twenty years old and my world was very tiny. And she totally kicked my ass, in the best way possible. I’ve written previously about my love affair with her various blogs, and right now she’s dispensing advice full-time via Dear Coquette, where she takes on questions about pop culture, society, and politics with a sharp wit, a tongue like a knife, and a good amount of profanity. I love The Coquette because she’s brazen, bold, and totally unlike any of the other feminist personas of the modern age — a truly raucous, wild, and unabashedly independent voice.

If I’m ever looking for guidance, I go directly to The Coquette.

Rachel Kincaid

Rachel Kincaid / Image source: autostraddle.com

As an editor for Autostraddle, I’ve met tons of fearlessly intelligent queer women. But nobody has a brain like Rachel Kincaid.

“…Rachel’s primary skill is keeping it real.”

As the site’s Senior Editor, Rachel tackles issues of news and politics as well as books and all things vegan food. She’s written up the police state, makes fun of the GOP in general, and can always be counted on to analyzing our victories. Her pieces are always thoughtful, her approach pragmatic, and her words finely chosen.

Whereas I tend to celebrate even the most minor victories with a full-bore party, Rachel’s primary skill is keeping it real. What that means is that she produces a lot of balanced, well-researched, and multi-dimensional work about stuff I care about a lot, and thus I make sure to read every word with her byline attached to it.

Sesali Bowen

Sesali Bowen / Image source: @BadFatBlackGirl

I met Sesali Bowen when I was on a panel with her in 2014, and something she talked about that day completely changed how I look at my movement. She talked extensively about growth during our conversations — about the idea that people can change, and how it’s linked to the idea that society and culture can change — and how important it is for us to accept that people can change, even the “bad guys.”

“…her writing continually expands my mind.”

When I went home, I immediately looked her up. And what I found was fun and smart work that looked at the world with a truly intersectional feminist lens. Whether she’s giving out sex advice, writing about trap feminism, or thinking about the magnitude of the #BlackLivesMatter movement, her writing continually expands my mind and gets me thinking differently about the things I care about.

Carmen Rios splits her time disparately between feminist rabble-rousing, writing, public speaking, and flower-picking. She’s currently the Community Director and Feminism Editor at Autostraddle and a Contributing Writer for Everyday Feminism, and her work has also been featured or spotlighted online by BuzzFeed, Feministing, BITCH, Mic, and Elixher. Her work has earned her the titles of “digital native,” “intimidating to some,” and “vapid and uninteresting.” You can find her online here.

Nat. Brut is a biannual journal of art and literature that aims to advance equality and inclusivity in all creative fields. To learn more about us, or to order a copy of our latest issue, visit us online!

--

--