I Have a Cellphone Addiction

Nathan Plotkin
NatePlotkinBCA332Portfolio
2 min readSep 26, 2019

--

Throughout the past week I have been tracking how much I have been using my phone, and the evidence has been life altering. I have always known that I spend too much time on my phone, but I never would have guessed that it would have been as much as it actually is. The data states that I use my phone several times a minute, which is not good for my attention span. I have better, more productive things I could and should be doing, instead of checking my phone. A person who viewed my statistics stated I, “clearly have a cell phone addiction”, and I do not think they could be more on the nose. I cannot even tell you how many times I have stopped writing this paper to check my phone.

Next, the app states that I use my phone for two hours and thirty-five minutes per day, and have used it for eighteen hours and twenty-five minutes this week. The app let me know that I use my phone for twenty two percent of my waking life. However, the app also states that I also slee for twelve hours and eighteen minutes per day, so I am not quite sure how accurate this data is. The app states that I spend nearly one full day per week on my phone, which if continued will span out to 48 days per year that I will be losing out on just because I am paying more attention to my phone. Thirteen percent of my life would be wasted due to just simply staring at a phone screen.

Finally, the app then states that I pick up my phone on an average of 125 times per day. In total, for the amount of time I have had this app, I’ve opened my phone more than 880 times. At first I did not think this was a lot, but then when I heard other people’s responses, I learned that I have a problem. A lot of people’s responses were a lot lower than mine — if I had to estimate, maybe a quarter of the size of mine.

I clearly have an issue when it comes to the amount of time I spend on my phone. The amount of time I waste on my phone when I could be doing other things is astronomical. If I were to cut my time on my phone in half, it still would be greater than a majority of the people in the class, and that is clearly an issue.

--

--