Mount Clear Campground, Namadgi

Nathanael Coyne
Nathanael’s Outdoors Journal
4 min readMar 24, 2023

24–25 September 2022

Frosty morning at Mount Clear Campground

I had wanted to start solo camping for several years. The Goondie 1P tent I purchased in 2018 had been languishing in my wardrobe for four years but now I was finally ready to get out and do it.

I love day hiking. I love starting the day with a nice cup of coffee on the couch and then driving to a trailhead, walking somewhere or up a mountain, and then returning to the car, driving home, and having a nice hot shower. The idea of spending the night alone and waking up in a tent and not being able to look forward to a shower at the end of the day was daunting, but I really wanted to do it. Partly as an activity on its own but also so I can work towards multi-day hikes.

For my first solo night out I wanted somewhere reasonably close to home, but it was important to me that it not be somewhere popular. I considered Honeysuckle Campground but settled for Mount Clear, at the far south end of the ACT, less than 4km from the NSW border.

Gudgenby River, Namadgi National Park

The campground was busier than I expected but spread out with a good 30 metres between tents. Close enough to not feel completely alone in the middle of nowhere, but far enough away to feel secluded.

Mount Clear Campground and local resident kangaroos

The campground is right by Naas creek, a beautiful meandering creek through tussock. It was pretty cold in September so I didn’t mind pushing through the grass along the creek — something I would not do in summer! I did get a little freaked out about returning and wondered if I’d made a mistake but was super vigilant and didn’t see any snakes. Although going out in a thunderstorm probably wasn’t smart either.

Naas Creek

Sadly no platypus either.

That night I didn’t sleep well. My tent was on just enough of a slope that I kept sliding off my NeoTherm sleeping pad. Apparently, I roll around a lot in my sleep and kept getting tangled. I’ve since purchased a different tent, pad, and sleeping bag which are much more comfortable although if I have to go hike-in camping I will have to use the ultralight Goondie, Mont sleeping bag, and inflatable pad.

My Goondie 1P tent
Woke up to a kangaroo perusing my cold campfire for leftovers

The next morning was cold, -3°C when I got up, and the rain had frozen on my tarp.

Frozen rain on tarp
Boiling water in Trangia kettle on a Firebox stove

Coffee is important, and my Bellman stovetop espresso machine with milk frothing wand met that need.

Bellman stovetop espresso machine
Obligatory campfire shot

Apart from the lack of sleep and long night it was a good experience that I learned a lot from and changed some of my gear for my next solo camp trip, which was at Bungonia and then a few months later Thredbo.

--

--

Nathanael Coyne
Nathanael’s Outdoors Journal

User experience designer and agile coach. Father, husband, photographer, bushwalker, woodworker, musician.