Mugii Murum-ban / Capertee River

Nathanael Coyne
Nathanael’s Outdoors Journal
6 min readSep 18, 2023

14–17 September 2023

After getting a taste of the Gardens of Stone National Park last December with my family I wanted to come back to the area and explore the mesas and pagodas.

My plan was to camp at The Diggings in Turon National Park and then walk up to Genowlan Trig Point in Mugii Murum-ban State Conservation Area and poke around a few other places like The Lost City, Temples of Doom, and Dargans Arch.

Unfortunately, my car kept overheating on the way up and despite stopping in Oberon to have a mechanic look at it (he replaced the radiator cap) I didn’t get to Capertee till after 6:00pm. I chickened out going down the steep hill into The Diggings and tried reversing up the hill (in the dark) then realised that was too dangerous so performed a 9-point turn on the narrow track using a tree as my safety net incase I started rolling off the side of the hill, and then drove to the other campsite in Turon, Woolshed Flat, but the track on the other side of the river crossing was in shocking condition so I had to reverse across the river … and gave up on camping the night and went to the Royal Hotel Capertee for a schnitzel, beer, and bed.

Driving around Turon National Park in the dark

The next morning I drove down Glen Davis Road to my backup campsite, Coorongooba, in Wollemi National Park. What a beautiful campground!

Mount Gundangaroo and Capertee River from the Glen Davis Road and Glen Alice Road junction
Coorongooba Camping Area in Wollemi National Park

I spent most of that day wandering down along Capertee River admiring the beautiful canyon walls and going off-track making my way around the large sandstone boulders.

Large chunks of sandstone that have fallen from the cliffs
Sand and sandstone down by the Capertee River
The canyon walls
Pink rocks
More rocks
Lots of reptile tracks across the sand
Capertee River

Sunset at Coorongooba Camping Area is pretty spectacular on a clear day.

Sunset at Coorongooba

The next day I headed up to Genowlan Trig as the area re-opened after a week of pest control. I assumed everyone had to walk up from the bottom and was surprised you could drive up to the top … if you had a 4WD (which I did not) so I was the lone loser who walked up while everyone else drove.

The 4WD track up to the mesa
Almost at the top

Yep you can even drive all the way to the trig if you have the vehicle and skills, it does get pretty hairy.

The track up to the Trig

For an area that is so accessible, there was no evidence of trash or graffiti which was nice, unlike Hassans Walls near Lithgow which I also visited, although some of the ironstone on the pagodas may have been broken by humans but it wasn’t obvious.

Looking across from the Genowlan Trig Trail to Genowlan Mountain, which you can also drive to
Pagodas
A little moss community growing in the hollow made by broken ironstone and eroded sandstone

There’s also an old diamond mine which I didn’t get to, and a canyon which was too muddy for me to attempt, and I was out of water at that point and had to return to the the junction to retrieve my cached water. Next time!

Canyon

When I got back home I was shocked to learn that the Valley of the Dinosaurs — which I had seen on a map — was much closer to where I walked than I had thought. I don’t know how to access it, it’s a bit of a secret, but I’m kicking myself it was right there within a couple of hundred metres.

Satellite imagery of where I walked in Mugii Murum-ban

I had met two guys who were trying to access “the valley” and showed me their GPS (they gave up) but it didn’t dawn on me they were trying to access this (not my photo):

Valley of the Dinosaurs © Bushexplorers
Bushbashing around near Genowlan Trig
Someone rappelling down the cliff drilling bolts

Apart from my car troubles, the difficulties in Turon National Park, and some noisy neighbours on my last night I really enjoyed this trip and can’t wait to go back with my family in our other car (which can get up the mountain) and explore more of that area.

I stepped up my camp cooking game this time too, making bread in a spun steel camp oven and nachos in the Firebox pan on the pizza stone.

Camp cooking
Sunset over Mount Gundangaroo
Hassans Walls near Lithgow

--

--

Nathanael Coyne
Nathanael’s Outdoors Journal

User experience designer and agile coach. Father, husband, photographer, bushwalker, woodworker, musician.