A Doctor’s First Impressions?

DR H.R.
National Health Service
2 min readAug 26, 2014

I enter my new ward. I’m the new Foundation Year One doctor. Adjust name badge. It says “Dr H.R. F1". Prepare to impress those patients! I’m going to be kind and considerate and listen to my patients. They’re going to love me, and my colleagues will all be impressed….

Those of you that watch Holby will know exactly what that means. I’m the nervous one scribbling in the notes always wanting other doctors’ signatures and having to ask other people how to perform even the most basic of tasks. To translate, an F1 is a newly qualified doctor in their first job.

I walk up to my first patient. Im ready. I can do this. This will be the best first impression ever…

Hello there!” He doesnt answer me. He’s watching the TV. Or the window. I can’t tell.

“Sorry, could I just get your attention please.” No response. I turn off the TV. “Hello there my name is H.R.” Proudly points to badge.

“Oh Hellooooo young man. A pleasure to meet you”. Well this is going well.

“An F1 doctor, eh? That’s fantastic. It must be SOOO fun!” Well, yes it is, sir, I’m glad you appreciate my position. Now..

“I can imagine. I simply LOVE motor racing. Do you work for Ferrari?”

Err… No, sir. Ha ha, very funny! F1 refers to ‘Foundation Year 1'.

“Pity” he says and he turns his head away..

I’ve lost his attention, and the long day has begun.

--

--

DR H.R.
National Health Service

Rogue Doctor, musing on health, politics, economics and change.