Food for health #3

There might be a way to effortlessly lose weight

Véronique de Quillacq
Nationall
2 min readJul 2, 2017

--

We’re at holidays’ doors, and by trying our bikinis we might wonder how to shrink that belly! I’ve never succeeded to slim with a diet. I may not have weight issues, but every year I gain a bit of weigh which I never lose.

The experiment

This winter, I felt on an article about an experiment on mouses to test the effect of fat and sugar. There was two groups of mouses:

  • Group 1: had access to sweet things “pure sugar”.
  • Group 2: had access to sweet things associated with fat.

After a while, the mouses from group 1 ate sweet things but not too much, without taking weight. However, the mouses from group 2 became addicted to fat sweet things and have become obese.

My experiment

I decided to give it a try. I didn’t change anything from what I usually eat except that I wouldn’t mix sugar and fat anymore.

Therefore, the morning toast of jam and butter became a morning toast of butter OR toast of jam. But no more nutella, no more ice cream (ok, with some exceptions sometimes there…), no more milk and sweet dessert and… that’s all.

  • After three weeks I lost my first kg.
  • After five weeks I lost the second.
  • I regained the sense of satiety, I eat far less, and I appreciate far more sorbets than milk ice creams that don’t attract me anymore.

Be careful of the traps

Hidden fats

Fat that are hidden in food. For instance everything that crunch contains fat, like rusks, the little industrial cookies, biscuits appetizers… so, if you follow:

  • Don’t take a rusk with sugar, like honey or jam.
  • Don’t take those industrial cookies, ’cause there’s always sugar in it.
  • Candies yes but without milk or gelatin, so only hard sweet candies (welcome back to the 60’s !)
  • Chocolate, when it’s dark, there almost no fat in.
  • Yes for biscuits appetizers but without any sauce.

Hidden sugars

  • You should check the composition of cooked meals.
  • No sweeteners. They give wrong signals to the pancreas about sugar in your blood. The pancreas will start working for nothing, which makes him become more and more lazy.

Therefore, big changes are only about that, fat plus sugar. If you drink a bit of sodas, don’t eat something containing fat with it, etc.

Voila ! I don’t think it’s super hard. Long live the beach !!!

--

--