When i was studying my 5th grade, I started selling…..fishy things.

Bharath Shanmugasundaram
NativeBag
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2017

I was an adamant person for sure and taking things for granted. I changed when i started studying from my grandmother’s house, as my parents moved from town on account of father’s job.

During my 5th grade, I wanted to have an aquarium on my own. Of course i couldn’t afford, so i got help to make a 1 feet cement pot from my uncle’s construction site.

At that time it is very difficult to find such niche shops….. Yes Aquarium and fishes are not easy to get in my town. I was happy when i found a home based entreprenuer uncle who was selling fishes. It became a habit for me to get money for my snack, save it and get a fish.

One day, i got guppies fishes and went to school directly. In that polythene cover, at times i added fish food, filled up the cover again with air, and end of every period checking the health of the guppies. Many friends started to join me to check the health of fish.

My friends started asking ‘where did you get’, ‘how to maintain it’,’can i come and see at your home’,‘how much does it cost’. My instinct automatically told them 2x rate to boast myself. One of my friend had that money and said, ‘i want one!’.

Without hesitation, i handed over to him for that money. My first journey as an entreprenuer started from that moment.

I am grateful to those initial customers who made me famous as fish seller. Soon my business had to shut down!! because the principal, banned fishes getting into the school and outside premises, with strict raids…

Hence my first business failed too early.

--

--

Bharath Shanmugasundaram
NativeBag

Over generations, we lost a part of language, culture, tradition and many more things around us. www.NativeBag.com is an attempt revive them.