Cuckmere Haven, East Sussex by PAOLO OPRANDI

American Golden Plover at Cuckmere Haven

Cuckmere Haven, East Sussex

Paolo Oprandi
Nature and wildlife
2 min readJun 23, 2013

--

I went out one morning to see an American Golden Plover that had been seen at the mouth of a local river, the Cuckmere.

Canada Geese
American Golden Plover
Swallow
Skylark
Common Blue
Small Heath
Black Swan

That morning I saw a number of Canada Geese, as well as Grey Heron, Little Egret and Redshank on the way to the beech. It wasn’t until the final pools I saw the American Golden Plover on it own on an island. It was a very cute thing.

There were also Linnet, Swallow and Skylark.

A few days later I returned for Father’s Day with my family. The Plover had gone but we had a lovely walk and saw Common Blue and Small Heath Butterflies, as well as a Black Swan and Meadow Pipit.

Cuckmere Haven is a lovely place.

--

--