Paolo Oprandi

Nightjar and Woodcock near Midhurst

Paolo Oprandi
Nature and wildlife
2 min readJul 6, 2013

--

Nightjars are a bird that come out at dusk. We only have one variety in the UK. I have tried to see them before but failed.This time I had a tip off. I drove into central Sussex to see them one evening.

I arrived at 8:30pm and there were some other birders in the car park who were doing a Woodcock count. I walked around the heathy Common. The first thing I saw was a Woodcock flying over head. Woodcock are strange waders which have adapted to woodland and heath habitats. They make a circular flight at dusk to mark their territory. I saw a number of them over the evening.

I walked around for a little longer. I wasn’t sure I would recognise the Nightjar song and I was afraid I would miss them. Then dusk came and there was a strange loud churring sound. I quicky followed it. There were two other birders fixed on a Nightjar with their binoculars. It was on a tree twenty metres away and when it took off it made a characteristic clapping sound with its wings. It was tremendous. I saw whites of its wings.

There were a number more around the place, some quite close, and tracking them was great fun. It seemed to get dark quickly and there was certainly no chance of a getting camera shot.

A great evening!

--

--