Osprey at Arlington Reservoir, east Sussex BY Paolo Oprandi

Osprey at Arlington Reservoir, East Sussex

As well as other little beauties

Paolo Oprandi
Nature and wildlife
2 min readJun 23, 2013

--

I got up early to see an Osprey that has been visiting a local reservoir to catch its fish. It was a dull morning, but I fancied my chances.

Reed Warbler
Egyptian Goose

I arrived at the reservoir and heard an interesting calling from the reed beds. The first Great Reed Warbler I’d identified had been a couple of weeks ago around Lake Garda and I realised these were the smaller Reed Warbler. There were four or five going in an out of the reeds.

I then met another man interested in seeing the Osprey. We walked around the water together. There were Grey Heron, Cormorant, Great Crested Grebe, Swallow, Wagtail and Grey and even an Egyptian Goose.

We sat on a bench at the farside of the reservoir wondering if the Osprey would come for some breakfast. We waited half an hour before I finally saw it. It was massive. It gave a spectacular display diving three times in to the water before finally picking up a large trout and dropping it. On its fourth attempt it was successful and flew away with the fish in its claws.

We walked back wondering if we would see it on a branch or telegraph pole eating it prey. We didn’t but as I was about to leave an Osprey returned. Two had been seen at the reservoir and we weren’t sure if this was the same for another one. It gave another impressive show before perching relatively closely on a man-made island.

Osprey

It had been memorable morning and with regret I had to leave this enormous beast of a bird because it was time for work.

--

--