Replace your to-do list for a done list

Carla Elliff
Nature Words
Published in
3 min readSep 2, 2019

Have you ever noticed that some tasks just hang on to your to-do list and never get done? More often than not, these are probably big tasks that are in fact composed of lots of little tasks.

I’ll give a real-life example, straight from my own to-do list: “finish dissertation”.

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

For the past two years (roughly) I had this written down amongst other tasks and it just didn’t get done — obviously! By giving myself such a huge chore as one single to-do item, I did the exact opposite of what I was trying to achieve. Instead of motivating myself to get things done, it made me feel like I was going nowhere.

Then, on some random day, I looked at my to-do list and realized I had done tons of things that were not listed but were very necessary to get to where I wanted to be. I had identified relevant research questions, organized my files, written important e-mails, and even daily tasks like shopping and laundry — hey, we’re all human!

This prompted me to start a “done list” in addition to my “to-do list” and it was wonderful!

The basic idea is that lots of the tasks we set ourselves out to do involve tiny steps, which we don’t usually acknowledge. For example, at a certain stage in my dissertation I had to finish one of my chapters. In my postgraduate course, each chapter consists of a full scientific article with their own introduction, methods, results, etc. So, in order for me to “finish dissertation”, as I had written down, I would first have to “write article”.

Writing a full scientific article isn’t a simple task either, so just adding that to the list didn’t really get me far…

However, I started writing down at the end of the day things like “downloaded paper for reading”, “wrote e-mail to colleague about making a figure”, “chose journal for publication”… and the task started to be less overwhelming. Things started to feel like they were going somewhere!

Step by step, slowly going somewhere. Photo by bady qb on Unsplash

This of course does not substitute my to-do list entirely. However, looking back on all the little things I’ve done over the day really keeps me motivated.

I’ve suggested this strategy to some of my colleagues already and I even found out that other people do the same and call it a “ta-da list”!

Whether you use Trello, other online resources, or just good ol’ paper and pen to write down what you need to do, I highly recommend you try out this strategy.

I’m sure adding “blog post” to my done list today!

--

--