A hard day’s work

Michael Ellis
NAUTBOX
Published in
1 min readMar 15, 2017

Today’s writing is decidedly non-technical. Rather a simple affirmation that a day spent hard at work can feel good.

We got our first, and likely last, significant snow fall of the year, last night and today. With snow comes shoveling.

So, on my lunch break, I shoveled. After work, I shoveled some more.I grew up on a farm so I’m no stranger to hard work. And shoveling isn’t the most strenuous workout. But, when you spend your days sitting and using devices, it’s something.

My body feels incredibly sore right now. It’ll probably be worse tomorrow. But I felt so good doing it and feel even better now.

Not whole. I feel broken. But good.

I got a lot of work work done as well. I felt inspired. I felt relaxed.

The shoveling is just shoveling. But I forced myself to do something that I don’t do very often.

I had to work muscles I don’t usually work. And it was challenging. And it was awesome.

Embrace those opportunities.

--

--