Everyone is going through something

Michael Ellis
NAUTBOX
Published in
1 min readFeb 6, 2017

My grandfather is dying. This someone who has been my friend since before I knew what a friend was. I lost my grandmother 6 months ago. It hurts.

I am reminded that others are struggling, too. Their health is failing them in a thousand different ways. Their parents are dying. Their children are hurting. Their marriage is falling apart.

Their government is abandoning them. Or stranding them. Their employment is ending. Their insurance is failing them.

It’s a come-back-to-earth feeling. A gut check to my complaining. I’ve got my issues, but so does everyone else.

My empathy fires up when I hear someone is going through a rough time. It reminds me to practice my empathy whenever I am with someone.

The reality is everyone is going through something. I don’t always know what that something is.

--

--