Interruption factories

Michael Ellis
NAUTBOX
Published in
1 min readFeb 2, 2017

--

Jason, you’ve called the modern office an interruption factory. In the years since you made that statement, it has only become more true.

Our calendars are one artifact of this. In an average week, I spend 25% of my time in scheduled meetings. And I’m nobody. The more senior you are, the more likely you’ll spend 50% or more in recurring or one-off meetings each week. Many of these same people need to be spending 50% or more “doing work.”

Not measured is the amount of time I will have a quick chat, a short side discussion, or ad hoc unscheduled meetings. Add in zoom calls and slack chats, and I’m left with 25% of the week “doing work.”

And I have little to no control over when that will happen or how much time it will take up.

Staying small and independant might be the one true way to achieve the nirvana you’ve created. Or at least a strong leader setting the tone.

But, as you said, the chaos that exists at almost every other institution is oh so normal.

--

--