Sleep deprived

Michael Ellis
NAUTBOX
Published in
2 min readMar 1, 2017

I’m horrible to myself.

I don’t get enough sleep. I’ve known this for some time now but I have yet to take a single step towards improving.

I didn’t realize just how poor my sleep habits were until I looked into my Fitbit data.

In 2016, I averaged 6 hours and 25 minutes of sleep.

I was consistently bad throughout the entire year.

January- 6 hr, 51 min
February- 6 hr, 40 min
March- 6 hr, 45 min
April- 6 hr, 40 min
May- 6 hr, 8 min
June- 6 hr, 10 min
July- 5 hr, 48 min
August- 6 hr, 2 min
September- 6 hr, 31 min
October- 6 hr, 31 min
November- 7 hr, 13 min
December- 5 hr, 42 min

You’re suppose to get 8 hours of sleep a night! My “goal” was 7 hours.

I slept at least 8 hours on 56 out of 365 nights last year. That’s 15.3%!

I’ve read about some of the health issues that sleep deprivation causes. I’m basically killing myself without a single good reason.

I knew I wasn’t getting enough, but I didn’t realize how far off I was. I think this is the awareness I needed to make some lifestyle changes.

--

--