There’s always time

Michael Ellis
NAUTBOX
Published in
2 min readFeb 5, 2017

--

My take away from this post is that there’s always time to work towards your goals. And, the evening is usually when our schedules are free to go after them.

The excuse of being too busy is usually fulfilled with a lot of mindless, useless activities. You can’t spend 3 hours a night watching Netflix or playing games on your phone and complain you don’t have time.

There’s always time, you have to be conscious of what you spend it doing.

I used to spend all non-working hours learning more about code and design. And I improved over a few short years. As I have aged I have only become more aware of what I don’t know. This has only increased the number of things I expect of myself to learn.

I’m at a place of analysis paralysis. There’s so much I want to learn, I never give an earnest effort at any single one of them. I end up putting off spending any energy because it’s easier to be lazy.

The issue isn’t time, it’s focus. There’s always time. You have to focus it on progressing towards one of your goals instead of being lazy. I struggle with this. A lot of people struggle with this. It is one of separators from those who are good and those who are great.

I’m taking this as a wake up call to choose one of the things on my list and give it dedicated attention. Right now I have a goal to write daily and post it on Medium. It doesn’t have to be amazing or go viral. It’s a goal to improve my writing and improve my thoughts.

We owe it to ourselves to put in the effort.

--

--