Things I’m learning about

Michael Ellis
NAUTBOX
Published in
1 min readMar 19, 2017

My work title has been “Web Designer” for 7 out of the 9 years I have been in the workforce post-college.

The last two years it’s been a combo of front-end developer and UX designer/lead.

If you asked my boss, or most anyone else, what I do they would say I do some design and coding. As simplisic as it gets.

I believe in continuous learning and I love it. I have very broad interests.

Here are just some of the things that I have been reading about recently:

Leadership, project management, user research, user testing, user story mapping, lean UX, psychology, philosophy, business models, humanity, design, product, and agile.

There are many others that I can’t recall at this moment. Even more that I have bookmarked to look into next.

I believe in growing my knowledge in a wide variety of areas. I am more prepared for whatever comes next.

It can be frustrating, however, to feel knowledgeable about something but because it doesn’t align with my role I can’t put anything into play.

Yes, a Web Designer may not be the first image that comes to mind when you think of a leader, for example.

It’s a limiting mindset.

--

--