Toxic in, toxic out

Michael Ellis
NAUTBOX
Published in
1 min readFeb 14, 2017

I used to be a very positive person. Before society tainted my perspective.

I assumed the very best of intentions in others. Thought the world was in general a good place. That everyone could be whoever they wanted if they worked hard.

My thinking on this has changed over the last few years. Part of it is growing up and becoming cynical. Part of it is seeing reality for what it is. And part of it is the stories we tell ourselves.

We intake a lot of negativity from others, the media, etc., on a daily basis. Way too much negativity. It sells better than positivity. It also changes who we are.

I’m trying to change my perspective. I want the truth, but I want positivity. This is not a stick-your-head-in-the-sand approach. This is an approach that seeks to cull streams of negativity.

I’ve unfollowed a lot of people. I’ve sought out different sources for news. I’m doing my best to revert back to having an optimistic outlook on life.

Some things in life are bad. It’s guaranteed. But, things are better than what we’re told. Having an optimistic outlook makes life better.

The world produces more negativity each day than positivity. It doesn’t have to stay the trend.

--

--