Twelve hours

Michael Ellis
NAUTBOX
Published in
1 min readMar 7, 2017

I wake sometime between 4:00 and 4:30 most mornings. Not because I’ve set a morning routine or because successful people are early risers.

That’s the time I need to get out of bed to make it to my office. I take care of my dog, shower and dress, and then get out the door by 5:30.

I could leave as late as 6:30, but it would take my commute from a smooth hour drive to a much more stressful hour and forty-five minutes.

Such is the effect of traffic during rush hour. So, I opt to leave earlier and get into the office earlier. I likewise leave for home earlier as well.

What this means is that I am away from my house for a full twelve hours most days of the week. At least one day a week I will work from home, but this is what I am committed to.

My commute used to be much worse. Taking 2 hours because I was leaving at the height of rush hour. I don’t wish it on anyone.

A commute like this can be soul crushing. Demoralizing. We weren’t made for this.

I’ve taken steps to improve it. Leaving earlier gets ahead of the traffic. I listen to podcasts and audiobooks to make use of the time.

It’s still a drain. No matter how smooth I try to make it, I’m still sitting in a car for 2 hours a day. I’m still committing twelve hours to my work day.

Right now, it’s worth it. The results make it worth it.

--

--