We Invent The Future

Michael Ellis
NAUTBOX
Published in
3 min readMay 31, 2017

This is the start of something new for me. While I have tried several times in the past at writing blogs, I have always failed on them.

I don’t think that was because of a lack of passion, free time, or any other single factor. I can’t pinpoint exactly why I eventually fell into the writing slump and ultimately abandoned each previous attempt. I do know what’s going to make this time different though. This is the first time that I’m truly owning the process, start to finish.

I’ve always been impressed with the works of Trent Walton, Jason Santa Maria, and recently with his redesign, Elliot Jay Stocks. These three, along with many others, are titans in our industry and have done much to push us forward. Their personal blogs have certainly inspired much of what I am hoping this blog turns out to be, both in design direction as well as content. They’re also inventing the future. Our future. They’re helping shape where we’re going with web typography, responsive design, standards and sharing whatever else they’re learning with the rest of us. One day I hope to be in that company.

I think that’s why I like our profession so much. Maybe more so than any other industry, change is almost a constant. Grow or go home. It seems like every week there is something new coming out and you don’t have to be well known to contribute. Good work gets noticed regardless.

These are exciting times because you look around at our peers, and the work we’re putting out, and we’re redefining what it means to be a web designer. We’ve built these tools, these patterns, these standards. Tomorrow we’re going to build new ones. Old methods die hard but only because we’ve built better ones.

I love following all of you on twitter, dribbble, and on your own personal spaces. You guys do the coolest things and then you share it with us. With me.

It’s at once inspiring and yet discouraging. On one hand you become incredibly motivated to create something awesome that will get people talking (about your work, yet also about you). But on the other hand you wonder if you’ve got what it takes.

I think I do. I have ideas and I have free time. Perhaps a little more of the former than the latter, but the opportunity is there. This is the start of it with this blog. I want, no, need that chance to write out my thoughts in long form if for no one else’s benefit but my own. I hope that’s not the case and that as I get better at this writing thing you get more out of it as well.

In the end I want discussions and I want growth. I want to be told when you think I’m wrong. I’m not here to be right, but I am here to learn and to create awesome things. We get to invent our own futures, both as individuals and as an industry. This is the path I am on right now. Thank you for reading and thank you for being a part of my growth. Keep moving forward.

Originally published at designernaut.com on August 18, 2012.

--

--