The One Way to Overcome a Setback in your Side Project

Naveen Sivakumaran
Naveen Sivakumaran
Published in
3 min readNov 19, 2017
Photo by James Pond on Unsplash

On the 10th day of my project, I failed. I succumbed to the distractions of holidays, weekends, hangovers, and more. They stared at me with menacing eyes. Pointing. Laughing.

Getting back on track was going to be a bitch.

Here’s what went down.

My wife and I returned to Sri Lanka for a quick holiday. The trip itself was awesome. Catching up with family and close friends, priceless.

I’m in the left hand corner. :D

I even packed my weekly planner, “Screw Work Break Free” book and laptop, with the confidence that I will squeeze in 20 minutes a day.

However, I had lost the little momentum I built. I didn’t get any work done. And it was not for the lack of time.

I had failed.

17 days after my last post, I come out punching. Swinging hay-makers. Looking around like Rocky Balboa searching for Adrian.

Nope. There is no hope there.

Just blank faces going about their business. No cheering crowds. No cornerman telling me how to get back up.

I picked up the pieces. Cursing. Making silent vows, not to let this happen again. Asking , “Is this worth it?”.

Fuck it. Let’s do this”, I mutter and fight on.

I bleed out what I am feeling right now, and how I’m riding that wave of negativity to produce something worthwhile.

The result — this short, but important piece.

Often, starting is just 50% of the journey. The remainder of the battle is in making progress, even if it is just one feeble step a day. Despite the criticism, creative blocks, shinier distractions, and the naysayers. Despite resistance.

I feel humbled that a handful of friends read what I’ve written. Their feedback reignites the fire.

All what I’ve read and learned and aspired to, is put to the test. I must keep creating, no matter what.

The wise words of Stephen King come to mind:

Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work”.

It’s simple. But, not easy. Had I sat around waiting to feel better, to be motivated, to be inspired, I’d still be waiting.

Instead, I’ve opted to ship. Bad, mediocre, or good. It doesn’t matter.

In overcoming my setback, I’ve paid my dues, for today.

Tomorrow? Now, that’s another demon.

Whatever you do, don’t wait for inspiration. I’ve tried it. It didn’t work.

You’ve got to show up, show up, and keep showing up.

Feeling hungover? Show up.

Feeling lazy? Show up.

New episode of your favorite TV show? Show up.

Don’t feel like it? Show up.

Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

One creative piece, or a workout, today, may not seem like a big deal. However, imagine a year’s worth of work. That’s got to count for something right?

Always ask yourself,

“One year from today, last year, if I had started, where would I be now?

The answer, usually, is unpleasant. You don’t want to be in the same place next year. Therefore, start today, march forward. Despite the odds.

“Stuck” is a feeling, not a fact.

You need to show up to make it go away.

It’ll feel like you’re wasting your time. Like there’s no purpose. The struggle is real. But, it can be overcome.

What setback are you faced with right now?

Drop me a line and let me know. Maybe, we can work on it together.

--

--