Enabling Fluidity for Growth: From Tech to Business

Go_Navi
Go_Navi
Published in
3 min readJul 13, 2021

--

I started as a software engineer at Navi. Though I love technology I, always was very curious to learn the business aspect of it. I have always understood how products are built but I felt it was crucial to understanding how to take those products to market and build a successful company around them. So, I decided to move internally to get that exposure, and Navi offered the perfect opportunity for me to make that transition.

Another big motivator for this lateral move was the opportunity to work closely with a seasoned entrepreneur and learn about the multiple factors that go into creating a successful company.

In any other establishment, an opportunity like this would be next to impossible. However, Navi’s culture not only supports growth, it encourages it. When I spoke to my manager about my aspirations, he was very supportive and told me about an opportunity in the CEO’s office.

I met with Sachin and others in the CEO's office, and in these discussions, it was the “why” that was emphasised. They wanted to understand my reason for joining the team and not whether I have the necessary skill set.

Learning from the Best

So what goes on in a CEO’s office? My day typically consists of meetings alongside Sachin with multiple teams like business, product, and finance. The CEO’s office team also conducts independent ideation with Sachin and drives actionables based on the outcomes of these meetings. Our team goals are aligned with Sachin’s goals for the company, and we constantly work to achieve and improve on these goals.

My biggest takeaway from working closely with Sachin has been the importance of asking the right questions and trusting the respective teams to do their jobs with complete ownership and freedom.

Overcoming Challenges that come from Lateral Shifts

While the move for me has been extremely rewarding, there certainly is a steep learning curve that is pushing me out of my comfort zone. When I was a software engineer, the most productive way to work was to be focused and with a single-minded objective. Now I have to engage with multiple teams constantly, and context switching between these meetings can sometimes be challenging.

A Culture that Fosters Growth

The culture at Navi is by far the best I have seen in my career so far. It’s a highly stimulating environment where everyone strives to be the best they can. Navi’s transparency, meritocracy, and open culture are what make all of this possible. The opportunities you receive are purely based on merit rather than your past experiences, and if you perform at your best, it can get extremely rewarding — be it in terms of opportunities or growth.

Take care of your work and Navi will take care of the rest.

The Future for Navi

Navi’s focus on technology is what differentiates it from others in the BFSI industry, and technology is going to play a key role in the industry that has been traditionally dominated by incumbents. We’re already seeing the impact that fin-tech has created over the last few years, and Navi, with its suite of different product offerings, is very well positioned to be a market leader in each of those categories.

--

--