Mailbag: Do I need to go to college to get a job in the NBA (Basketball Operations)?

Working in the NBA

John Ross
GET IN THE GAME 101

--

Photo by RUT MIIT on Unsplash

Question: Thanks for hosting a course like this, there is one thing I’ve noticed and that is that there are a lot of college backgrounds in the guests and students. I don’t plan on going to college and I was wondering how important college experience (Student Manager, GA, etc), is?

This is a common question I get. Should I go to college? Do I have to go to college?

And the answer varies for each individual. That being said, the consensus would be, yes, I would recommend going to college. I would recommend being a Student Manager. I would recommend being a Graduate Assistant.

All of those things give you tools, experience, and connections that you will likely need for the next step in your career.

That does not mean that it is a must or requirement.

Most NBA Internships will require a college degree but that doesn’t mean it’s your only way to get your foot in the door.

I’ve seen those who have come through the door on the Player Development side and then up through the Coaching ranks. Or those who have been Team Attendants and parlayed that into an Equipment and Operations role. And those who work their way up through the…

--

--

John Ross
GET IN THE GAME 101

Writing stories, working in the NBA, & learning each day how to better love my neighbor — www.hellojohnwross.com