Becoming a Role Model & Teacher Leader

Blanca Manrique is an Instructional Technology Facilitator for Yakima Schools. She supports teachers and students in modeling classroom instruction with technology, student response systems, and more — she is also a recently renewed, National Board Certified Teacher.

--

Why did you decide to become Nationally Board Certified?

First and foremost, I wanted to improve my teaching practice. I used to share an office with two colleagues and I would listen to them speak about instructional practices and student learning and in my mind, I thought, I want to speak their language, I want to know what they know and improve student learning. I wanted to be like them.

I also wanted to feel like an accomplished teacher. I have always strived to better myself and to improve my practices. Sometimes we don’t know how much of a role model we are to others. I am a minority, I am a second language learner and I am a woman. I thought, if I do this, I would be a role model for others like me.

Blanca Manrque, NBCT, Yakima Schools

In my new position as an Instructional Technology Facilitator, I work with many new, young teachers. One day, one of them said, I want to be like you some day. It really struck me that somebody would use me as their role model.

What was the process like for you?

Rigorous. At first it was challenging for me, not in a negative light, in a positive light. It should be a challenging and rigorous process for candidates. My challenge was that there were a lot of areas to focus on. The video, written commentary, rubrics, standards — it was all challenging. It was helpful for me to be organized.

I had my cohort facilitators to help me through the challenges, too. I had peer review feedback in my cohort. We were a mixed cohort, meaning there were different content areas than my own in the group. I think that was a plus because people asked more questions of your work. Finding another teacher to go through the process with was also key for support.

It took me two years to certify and it truly was a family effort. I couldn’t have done it without my family support. When I certified, we celebrated.

What have you learned from this process, and what have you utilized in the classroom?

What is the student need? Always begin with this. Look at the whole student. Use data to identify the goals. The worthwhile goals.

I do not have a classroom right now, I am an instructional coach, I work with teachers and model the evaluative and reflective process, even if the teachers I am working with aren’t NBCTs. It’s about a peer coaching model that works for educators.

What does success looks like in your career?

I have been in many classrooms and I believe it’s when you truly have the students engaged with the content that you are teaching. I try to use a blended learning approach, so it’s not always just digital instruction. I like to have students respond in a variety of ways. I truly believe that when they are engaged and we are meeting their student needs, that is success.

What do you love about teaching in Washington?

The diversity of students and teachers for sure! In addition to that, there are so many different opportunities for professional growth in Washington, at the district, ESD and state level.

What advice can you give other Washington educators?

Definitely go through the National Board process to improve your practice. I think it helps us teachers get to know our students and families more profoundly, and it absolutely benefits student learning.

Find out more about Blanca’s position at Yakima Public Schools here: https://www.yakimaschools.org/domain/62

--

--

The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
NBCT Voices

Led by Supt. Chris Reykdal, OSPI is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state.