New Ways to See Your Craft with NBCT

Molly Berger received her National Board Certification in 2006 and renewed in 2016. She is a current team member at OSPI in the English Language Arts (ELA) program.

--

Why did you decide to get nationally certified?

I had been teaching for 27 years and decided I wanted another challenge for my teaching. A colleagues at a workshop was excited about the process and encouraged me to do it.

The first time I certified, I remember it was confusing and I was too busy to focus the way I needed to. It took me a little bit longer to understand what I needed to do. Once it clicked, I was actually energized by the process. When I did the renewal, it was much smoother.

What was the process like?

We had four entries and a test to complete at that time to become certified. One of them required analysis of student work. I had to take reading and writing and integrate it with media — come up with a formula for those disciplines to work together. It was challenging but I created materials that I continued to use after the boards. Two of the entries are videotaped, which was awkward at first but became easier and was truly helpful in analyzing instruction and student learning.

We had to give evidence of how our practice was effective and that we met the standards given for our certification area. I had to describe what was going on in the classroom in depth We were given questions to cover but it all came down to what was the evidence of student learning.

Were there any challenges?

NBCT calls for you to write as a technical writer, rather than an ELA scholar. It’s a lot about claim, support, and evidence. “Expand on that!” — that is the ELA way of thinking, but you can’t do that necessarily in National Boards. You have to be precise in what you write but still make sure it gives the evidence needed. It was new to me.

Do you think it was beneficial?

I think the reflective practice is valuable. It makes you really look at your teaching. A lot of what I found in my reflections did validated what I did in the classroom. After that validation, I was able to expand on what I was doing, but with more intention.

I also learned how to get students into a deeper level of discussion without me, the teacher, being in the way. Before NBCT, I felt like I was always the one managing the discussion. I wanted my students to converse with each other, to build on what they were saying together.

The collaboration with other people, in my cohort for example, is valuable as well. I was able to connect with educators in all different content areas.

Do you have any advice for teachers who might want to become certified?

Really take your time, look at what’s expected, and plan accordingly. Today, teachers can spread their entries out over three years, and they can take time to do it well. The connections you make with other teachers such as through CSTP are so important, that’s how I met some of my current colleagues.

Also, don’t be afraid to share your work with others and get feedback. In your classroom, it’s just you and the kids. Taking your practice outside the classroom is a good idea. Run your teaching strategies by colleagues and get that constructive feedback.

--

--

The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
NBCT Voices

Led by Supt. Chris Reykdal, OSPI is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state.