Remember Why You Teach, Think Ahead

Lynne Olmos teaches 7th and 9th grade English, History and Drama at Mossyrock Junior High and High School and has been a National Board Certified Teacher (NBCT) for seven years. The following is a Q&A with Lynne.

--

Why did you decide to become Nationally Board Certified?

Well, it was funny. I had never heard of the National Board, and had no idea what it was. I worked and still work in a remote and rural community.

Then, I was at a COE (Collection of Evidence) scoring event and the teacher next to me said she had just sent her “box” in to become certified, the box being all the materials she needed to receive her National Boards. I was curious, and she was happy to explain.

Lynne Olmos, NBCT

I push myself to be the best I can be, so the National Board process was a perfect fit for me. Back then, we completed the whole process in a year, if we were lucky enough to pass on the first try. So, for that year, it was a big part of my life. Then, right after that, I had the opportunity to be on the National Board’s standards committee for English Language Arts. So, within a year, I was a newly minted NBCT and on the National standards committee. We wrote the new version of the National Board ELA standards that are being used today.

Lynne accepting ESD 113 Regional Teacher of the Year award in 2012.

How did you find out about the National Board ELA committee?

When you certify, the National Board lists the names of newly certified teachers online. Out of curiosity, I searched for my name on the list. There was an announcement asking for applicants. I filled out the application on a whim, but I thought, they would never pick me. But, I was selected, and, before I knew it, I was in Washington D.C. It was an amazing experience; the whole time it was unreal — this small town-teacher from rural Washington working on a national committee!

What was the National Board Certification process like for you?

I really wish I could remember how I had that much energy [laughs]. I was advising the drama club and coaching our school’s equestrian team on top of a full-time teaching job. To top that, I had to drive to Tacoma for all of my cohort meetings. There were no NBCTs in my district, and few in the region. So that meant I had to travel a long way to meet with other candidates. It was often an isolated process and exhausting. I don’t regret it, though. It was worth it.

Are there more NBCTs in your district today?

Things have changed a lot. The district is very supportive of National Board candidates now. Two more teachers certified this year, and we have five candidates that are in the middle of the process. I facilitate a local cohort, so now no one has to drive far to get the support they need.

What have you learned from this process, and what have you utilized in the classroom?

My biggest takeaway is the reflective process. I am always seeking feedback, particularly from my students. I also ask them to reflect on their projects. We always ask, “How can we do better?” Everyone of us is a work in progress. Accomplished teaching is a journey, not a destination!

What do you love about teaching in Washington?

I’m a 5th generation Washingtonian, and I love my home. I particularly love rural life, where I can have dogs and horses and beautiful countryside to enjoy. I love teaching the students of my community, too. Our community is a bit isolated and very conservative. Our region has suffered economically for years. Many of my students have a limited and rather narrow world view, and they don’t always see the brightest futures for themselves. I like being able to offer them new ways to look at the world and the people in it. I help them become lifelong learners so they have a brighter, broader perspective of the world after high school.

Lynne and her horse.

What advice can you give other Washington educators?

Think about the longevity of your career. If you are going to do this for a long time, you need to enjoy it and remember why you do it. Be the best teacher you can be for your students. I feel that becoming an NBCT validates good teaching. You’re already a good teacher, and then you learn even more about your strengths and examine your weaknesses. This whole process lets you say, “I am an NBCT and I did it to be the amazing teacher my students deserve.”

--

--

The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
NBCT Voices

Led by Supt. Chris Reykdal, OSPI is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state.