Teacher Mentor Talks Dedication, Beginning Teachers

Kathryn Teske is the Beginning Teacher Assistance Program Coordinator for Central Valley School District. She has developed the beginning teacher mentoring program for her school district to support 100 (or more) first and second year teachers.

--

Her nominator and colleague said, “Kathryn has and continues to build relationships with new teachers by providing them district level support, mentorship, and a differentiated experience customized to the needs of each and every teacher. She arranges for focused peer observation and debriefing for each of her new teachers. Because of her work and expertise, she has also been invited to collaborate with OSPI around standards and induction practices. Her leadership, dedication, and work ethic are top-notch!”

Why did you decide to become Nationally Board Certified?

I needed to do either pro-certification or NBCT. People in my building said there were a lot of professional development opportunities and more growth in NBCT, and that it was good for students. Because the experience of my colleagues was positive, they were very supportive while I was in the process. I started when I was three years into my career.

Kathryn Teske, NBCT

What was the process like for you?

It was grueling; it was nerve wracking at times, but it was totally worth it. I am similar to a lot of people in that I don’t want to see myself on video. I wouldn’t have done it if I hadn’t needed to. But it was an important and different way to look at my teaching.

I was in a cohort, too. That was really important. I also had a really great supporter in my building. She spent hours with me — looking at my video, looking at my writing. I came to her house on a snow day and everything. I also have a supportive family. My husband let me spread everything out in the basement. He didn’t say anything except, “can I give you more time?” It kept me on track.

What have you learned from this process, and what have you utilized in the classroom?

Take time to reflect deeply. Focus on where student growth is. Students should take ownership of their learning. In my videos, I really looked at student conversation, and how they talked. I looked at how to get more kids to talk. You know, it felt like it was always the same four kids. I wondered, “How do I engage them and build their skills?”

I work with TPEP training now and student talk is huge for us. No matter which TPEP framework you are using, you are looking at student talk and ownership. It is such an important way for students to make meaning of their coursework.

What are some of your tactics?

You can try a variety of different things, I usually let students talk once, and then I didn’t let kids speak again until everyone had a chance. I put cards on their desks, and then they can turn them over when they have already shared. It can be productive if it’s self-monitored by the students. They help each other. I found some students saying “Hey, you haven’t said anything, want to chime in?” to their peers.

What do you love about teaching in Washington?

We have a really supportive parent community. I feel lucky to be a part of that. My own family places a high value on education. I get to be an educator as part of that system. It is really important to me to advocate for the needs of a wide variety of kids; it makes our community really great. I can’t imagine leaving. I work with really awesome people, and I am working on my NBCT renewal now.

I also love that I work with people that continue to push and help me through collaborating. I work in the professional development department for our district, and we always encourage educators to ask the questions, “How will this impact kids? How will this support teachers in impacting kids?”

What advice can you give other Washington educators?

Seek collaborative partners. You can support one another in meeting the needs of kids, enhancing learning. And always remember why you teach, that’s what centers you in your work with students and professional growth.

One of my focuses is to work with our beginning teacher program, it’s first and second year teachers. I find teachers seek the opportunity for professional growth — my advice for new teachers is always to remain open to growth. Education is always seeking to improve, always seeking to have an impact in a positive way. Veteran teachers, watch out for the new teachers, build relationships and support their journey. We can grow as we work together.

--

--

The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
NBCT Voices

Led by Supt. Chris Reykdal, OSPI is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state.