Washington’s Standard & National Board Certification

Wendy Miller has worked in Seattle Public Schools as a math teacher, new teacher mentor, math coach and instructional coach for 18 years. She also serves as a National Board Certification ambassador.

--

Why did you decide to become Nationally Board Certified?

At the time, I was a math department head and was looking for the next step in my education career. I only knew one other person that was attempting certification so I didn’t have a lot of information, but I wanted the challenge.

Wendy Miller, Seattle Public Schools

To be honest, I didn’t know exactly what I was getting myself into. I kind of dove in and thought, this is a natural progression for me. I was looking for more opportunities in teacher leadership and I wanted to learn more about myself as a teacher. The National Board process really did that. It helped me grow.

What was the process like for you?

My experience was a little unique, because I wasn’t in a cohort. At that time, cohort support wasn’t readily available or easy to access, but I did have the support from Jump Start and Home Stretch. That was transformative for me. I could talk with colleagues from my content area. I also reached out to colleagues in my district who I later found out were going through the same process.

I just finished my renewals and I made sure I joined a cohort. My union (SEA) offers a variety of options for cohort support.

What have you learned from this process, and what have you realized is good to use in the classroom?

I think the process of getting initially certified was about being a reflective practitioner. I don’t think I formally reflected prior to the process — but I thought I did. Before becoming a NBCT, I would write notes and collaborate with colleagues, but I never really sat through the reflection process and asked the important questions about my students and my craft.

During and after certification, my students’ needs became first. I was able to look at all of my students and ask, what can I do to support their strengths and address their needs?

What do you love about teaching in Washington?

Our state has strong educators and we have strong educator supports. I didn’t really realize this until I got involved in National Boards and visited other states. As an instructional coach and NBCT ambassador, I have had the opportunity to talk to colleagues about their educator supports. Having only worked in Washington, I didn’t realize that some states lack policies and procedures that truly support teachers. I love high standards for teachers, and I think our state has them.

What advice can you give other Washington educators considering certification?

Don’t hesitate, push yourself. Try it! It’s about becoming a reflective practitioner and showing proficiency in your content area. All teachers want that.

The timing may not be perfect, but it makes you a stronger educator. The program itself has been revised. It has been designed to help meet more people’s needs in regard to timelines, finance, and access.

So many opportunities opened up to me after I became certified. It was just a matter of me being ready to participate. My career has been strengthened by me saying “yes”. I’m learning more, collaborating, and growing. That’s the most important part.

--

--

The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
NBCT Voices

Led by Supt. Chris Reykdal, OSPI is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state.