Cliffs of the Neuse State Park

NC Department of Natural & Cultural Resources
NC PATH
Published in
4 min readMay 7, 2021

--

By Emily McIntosh

There’s a part of Eastern North Carolina that invokes a sense of escape into a place far away from the bustling cities or even the wide-open farmlands. During the spring season, the neon green leaves and new growth provide the perfect backdrop to spend a Friday afternoon outdoors. This spring, Cliffs of the Neuse State Park was where I decided to head east to see the views of spring.

Formed in 1945 in Wayne County, Cliffs of the Neuse State Park highlights the cliffs along the Neuse River, eroded away after millions of years of weather and water. With over one thousand acres of park, hundreds of plant and animal species, and seven hiking and biking trails, I took my camera and made the hour-long drive from Raleigh to Seven Springs.

As I began walking the trail, the landscape was similar to parks in the area: lots of pine trees (and needles).

Before I knew it, I made my way to the cliffs themselves.

The cliffs are made up of clay, seashell, shale, and gravel, which provides many different colors along the 600-yard stretch.

Spring is an especially unique time to visit these parks around North Carolina. Many shades of green made an appearance as I made my way through the trails.

This looked a little more swamp-like as I continued my journey. Not pictured: the 1-inch layer of mud below and around my sneakers (remind me to wear my hiking boots for every trip to a North Carolina state park).

I also learned why this particular trail was called the Galax Trail (named after the abundant galax plants around the creeks).

“Golden hour” never fails to disappoint as a photographer, highlighting the beautiful foliage of oak and hickory trees.

Farther down the path, I made my way onto the Lake Trail to this beautiful view of the lake. If you can see it, off in the distance is a diving board for summer swimming. Though the weather is still a little too chilly to take a dive now, I imagine the diving board will be heavily used this summer.

Cliffs of the Neuse offers many different activities throughout the year, including summer sports like swimming, kayaking, and canoeing. Those with proper licenses can also spend some quality time fishing along the Neuse River. As for me, I will continue making trips here to escape from the city while the weather still allows, camera in hand.

--

--

NC Department of Natural & Cultural Resources
NC PATH

The official Medium account of the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources.