ROAR

Short Interview

Tommy E
Cloud Walkers
6 min readMay 24, 2016

--

ROAR performing (Credit: Daniel Ahrendt)

ROAR is one of the best musical secrets of Phoenix, Arizona. Not that I would know — I’m from California — but ROAR puts a reexamination and modification on the sound of old-school stars like the Beach Boys and Beatles.

To sample their sound, take a listen to ROAR’s new song “Hope” from their LP Impossible Animals.

Embroidered album artwork for new ROAR album Impossible Animals (which is not a copy of the idea from Into It. Over It.’s album artwork for Standards) (Source: ROAR/Bandcamp)

The song is about a break-up — which might sound cliche — but its sound is complete with short-lived horns, electric bass guitar, and a soaring chorus that breathes new life into an old premise, singing,

My friends will keep me honest

You won’t mean a thing to me

That’s what I call progress

That’s what I call progress

The song “Hope” from ROAR’s new LP Impossible Animals (Source: ROAR/Bandcamp)

For fans of the aforementioned bands, anything shared by Quote Unquote Records, or current friends and fans of ROAR looking to learn more, it is an honor to say that Owen Evans of ROAR was generous enough to answer nine short-interview questions via Email about the beginning of the band, Impossible Animals, and touring:

1) Could you explain how and when ROAR was born?

It started in 2004. I was in a band called Asleep in the Sea, which was fully collaborative, and I wanted to write songs in a separate capacity. I am not prolific. I wanted to start making songs that were not collaborative, so that I didn’t have to worry about them going away if a band broke up (eventually, AITS broke up). I called it ROAR because it was going to be mostly quiet lofi junk, which seemed funny to me at the time. Now I sort of cringe at it.

2) You have listed your influences as some of these artists: Beach Boys, Beatles, Os Mutantes, The Pixies, Curt Boettcher, Pavement, Grandaddy, The Ronettes, Jon Brion, The Shangri-Las, and The Chordettes. Why these particular artists? That is to say, how have they influenced or inspired you?

Jon Brion has just been tuned into these kind of gorgeous, sweet, melancholy melodies. It reminds me of Ravel and Satie. Tchaikovsky has this piece called “None But the Lonely Heart,” which basically sums up how a melody can make you feel something. He kind of says more with a melody than the most profound lyric ever could. I definitely love a melody that makes me feel something, and I try to focus on that.

All those ’60s groups listed just have these amazing production techniques. They made records that were interesting to listen to and experimental. (Os Mutantes used an aerosol can for percussion). That sort of stuff makes me feel like almost anything can be a good idea.

3) You have also said that you also like current artists such as Carol Cleveland Sings, The Spinto Band, AJJ, Stephen Steinbrink, The Paddle Boat, and Malakai. What have you learned, been inspired by, or gained from some of these artists?

AJJ have been part of my tight pals since 2005. They have all helped me in a litany of ways (including — but not limited to — playing on my recordings, allowing me to tour with them, playdates with kids, etc.).

Carol Cleveland Sings is the music of my buddy Thomas Hughes (also a member of Spinto Band). He may be my favorite living songwriter. We also had the opportunity to tour together, and he is just an overall fantastic person. He has been super supportive as a friend/contemporary.

Stephen has been a good friend, amazing inspiration and even mixed one of the new songs. His new album is going to melt faces.

As for Spinto Band, almost all of these guys have either played on a recording of mine or recorded it (Nick is an engineer who did the first two records and mixed a song on this new one). They have been buddies for somewhere around 10 years.

4) How has your experience been making a living/money from music? How do you view the future of music with the influx of technology and the Internet? Explain.

I can’t even pretend to have a good estimate of what technology may bring. I do worry about a Terminator-2-Skynet-type scenario. I’ll just hope for good things…

I am extremely grateful to everyone who has contributed monetarily, emotionally or really in any form to the music and making of it. There aren’t a ton of people who know about the music, but those that do listen to it and enjoy it, have been astoundingly supportive. With that said, I am by no means making money let alone a living. I just try to mitigate loss. Mega thanks to everyone who has helped me mitigate loss!!!

5) What has been your favorite thing about touring/playing shows? What has been your least favorite thing about touring/playing shows? And is there a memorable experience from a show you’d like to share?

It’s hard to find time to tour when you are constantly working to make ends meet, but I love touring! I am currently trying to figure out how to tour more while keeping myself/family afloat. My hat’s off to the people who have got it figured out!

While on tour with AJJ in the Canadian Rockies, we were driving through a snowstorm so slowly that we were able to essentially ghost ride the whip, skiing alongside the van. Black metal provided an appropriate soundtrack.

6) How do you view your relationship with fans? What are ways you like to connect with fans, and do you have a memorable experience with a fan you would like to share?

I quite enjoy the relationship with folks who like the music. I have been super fortunate to have good interactions (nothing mean or scary). My new pal, Tim, let me play in his apartment this winter. I was visiting my parents in Boston and asked (via social media) if anyone would want to host a house show there since I am almost never on that side of the country. He moved furniture, setup chairs, found another musician to play, and had snacks! SNACKS! These are the kind of interactions/connections I am grateful for. I hope I get to do things like that more. It’s overwhelming how much generosity and hospitality people can have.

7) I really love the song “Hope” from Impossible Animals. What inspired the lyrics to that song? What inspired its sound?

Thanks! It was a breakup (surprise!) that inspired the lyrics. I hypothesized about a person opting to feel nothing instead of feeling love at the risk of getting hurt again. Then, when you realize that feeling nothing is not what you want, could you even choose to get feelings back again or would you lose that option? It’s a pretty worn-out premise, but perhaps it was my turn to beat that dead horse.

Each section has sort of a different sonic inspiration. It’d take a while to work through what influenced what.

8) What song(s) are you most excited about fans’ hearing on Impossible Animals and why? How did the album artwork come into being?

No song stands out too much for me. I am hoping people listen multiple times. Some songs are really short and straightforward, but others have a lot of things going on at once. I can’t wait to hear from people about things that they notice. One song (Fading Kitten Syndrome) has a three-part-trumpet harmony and a three-part-cello harmony happening at the same time. I was pretty pumped when this arrangement worked out.

9) What advice would you give young artists starting out today who sound similar to you?

A good (interesting?, moving?) melody and chord progression will make almost any arrangement/production/recording setup sound good. The same cannot be said for the inverse. Spend lots of time getting a melody and chords you really like.

Happy accidents are real and important to look for, as well as set yourself up for.

ROAR banner (Source: ROAR/Bandcamp)

If you liked the article then hit the ❤ button below, and, if you want to support and learn more about ROAR, then check out the links below:

You can buy, donate, and listen to ROAR on Bandcamp here.

For news about events and new music, you can like ROAR on Facebook here.

You can also follow ROAR on Tumblr here.

You can follow ROAR on Twitter here.

And you check out more music released by Quote Unquote Records, Anxiety Machine Records, and Really Records.

--

--