Installing Microsoft Windows

Hugo Cornejo
Negligible
Published in
2 min readApr 22, 2017

I switched to Mac back in 2005, right when Apple announced they were migrating the platform to Intel. Well, what I really did was to switch to Hackintosh (a PC tricked into believe it’s a Mac, so you can run nice software on it).

Hacking things around (I was 20, just about to graduate in Computer Science) I got a good understanding on how these things work under the hood. I even wrote a guide on how to install a Hackintosh (it was the first guide ever published in Spanish about the topic).

Helping people to get access to software that was so much better than the omnipresent Windows XP and much easier to use than any Linux distribution made me really happy. Probably thanks to that I quickly became an Apple fanboy and never looked back.

“Sleek look”

However, from time to time, I see myself installing a Windows machine (usually to deal with the obsolete Spanish government’s digital service) and I must confess, deep inside of me, I love installing Windows.

There’s something weird about the installation process of Windows (particularly from 3.0 to Vista) that it just feels right. It’s like riding a bike, totally impossible to forget. All that cheesy copy about features that nobody remembers. The tacky illustrations and aesthetics, always trying to be trendy but somehow permanently one step behind. The random reboots here and there. The animated cursors… I don’t know, it’s just a guilty pleasure.

--

--

Hugo Cornejo
Negligible

VP of Design @monzo You should follow me @hugocornejo