Never Say Never

Hugo Cornejo
Negligible
Published in
1 min readMar 1, 2017

I have a soft spot for comedy clichés, small things that always work to deliver a perfect punch line.

One of my favourites is that one in which a character says that won’t do a certain something or that something can’t happen. The scene suddenly shifts. All we see now is that same character doing exactly what promised to not do or that impossible event happening right in front of our eyes!

In other words…

Flynn Rider: “I don’t sing”

Tangled (2010)

Another example, a bit older…

Timon: “What do you want me to do? Dress in drag and do the hula?”

The Lion King (1994)

Also seen in live action films…

Mrs McCallister: “Kevin doesn’t know how to use a credit card”

Home Alone 2: Lost in New York (1992)

I just can’t help it, I find it hilarious. The more obvious the better. If I ever write a script I’ll pack one of these bad boys every five minutes.

--

--

Hugo Cornejo
Negligible

VP of Design @monzo You should follow me @hugocornejo