The BBFC Black Card

Hugo Cornejo
Negligible
Published in
2 min readNov 7, 2017

I love going to the cinema, so much that I pretty much go every week. Yeah, the seats are worse than the IKEA coach I have at home, the screen is blurrier than my budget TV and I can’t pause the playback if I need to use the restroom or adjust the volume to my taste. But maybe those “not perfect” features are why I love it so much.

I like the idea of dozens of people experiencing the same thing at the same time. I like the smell of popcorn. I like it when people laugh at jokes that I don’t find funny. I like it when I laugh two seconds before everybody else in the room just because I was anticipating the punchline. I like when the audience cry… and I like the BBFC black card.

The BBFC black card is that screen that appears before the film starts. Right after that good half an hour of trailers and McDonald’s ads. These are my reasons to like it:

  1. They usually adjust the projection from “advert mode” to “film mode” while this card is on screen so you can see how big the actual cinema screen is. It’s a good feeling.
  2. It tells you about the dangers of the film and reminds you of the age rating. Just in case you want to leave the room right before it starts. You know, after buying your tickets and after sitting through a crazy number of ugly cars ads.
  3. Comic Sans.

--

--

Hugo Cornejo
Negligible

VP of Design @monzo You should follow me @hugocornejo