I Wanted To Be Donald Trump’s Apprentice

Melanie Mirella Vera
Neon Tommy
Published in
3 min readSep 20, 2015

--

Until he advocated for deporting the family who helped me become a first-generation college student.

By Melanie Vera

During our Thursday afternoons in tenth grade, my classmates and I would finalize our bets on who would be next to be fired in Donald Trump’s The Apprentice. The Apprentice starred 16 to 18 business people competing for one job: the opportunity to receive a one-year, $250,000 contract to head one of Trump’s companies. We’d dash into our Marketing Fundamentals classroom on Friday mornings, preparing ourselves for an hour of laughs and groans until our favorite competitor was blessed with the Trump’s signature slogan, “You’re fired.”

After each episode, I felt immensely drawn to Donald Trump’s persona. As a Hispanic immigrant living in a soon-to-be foreclosed home, Trump glamorized the American dream. He had succeeded in the business world, and that meant that he’d succeeded at life. He owned hotels, buildings and golf courts while my Peruvian parents’ bank account was frozen in double digits. I recognized that no matter how many years my father endured twelve-hour shifts at a food warehouse, he wouldn’t even make one percent of what Trump earns in a month.

After watching The Apprentice religiously for two years, I was convinced that if I aspired to become like Donald Trump, I could offer my parents the life they deserved. Applying to colleges then became the new experience in which my entire family played a daily role. From meeting application deadlines and budgeting for SAT prep to brainstorming essay topics, I always had a family member by my side.

Fast forward three years, and I’m finally driving through the gates of the University of Southern California with parents who’d never before seen the City of Angels. Through their sacrifice, I become a first-generation college student and through my efforts, I was going to work as hard as I could to become like Donald Trump.

Then on June 16th, 2015, Trump did something that I had never expected a celebrity like him to do: he announced his bid for the 2016 presidency. My idol then surprised me again, by stating in a press conference that “when Mexico sends its people, they’re not sending their best…they’re sending people that have a lot of problems…they’re rapists…and refused to apologize for his comment. And because the third time’s the charm, he then released his immigration reform plan in which he stated that if elected president, he would deport eleven million undocumented immigrants and end birthright citizenship.

Trump had been an individual whose success and business ideology had inspired me to pursue my own path to upward mobility. In a way, I felt that he was as responsible as my own parents for me becoming the first in my family to pursue a college education. Once I heard his comments and platform on immigration, I felt guilty and shocked that he could be so incredibly hostile toward the dedicated individuals who had lifted me to the privileged state I am in today.

After processing that eye-opening moment, I had to reevaluate how I’d viewed my role model. Although I’m not sure whether or not I am the only young person Donald Trump has inspired to go to college, I am sure of one thing. Some of my friends won’t ever be granted the same opportunity to succeed that I have because they are undocumented immigrants.

So knowing that, here’s my message to Donald Trump:

Deporting eleven million undocumented migrants will not strengthen America again. Separating eleven million people from their families and violating the human rights of individuals like those who’ve helped me reach my own educational potential will not unite our country.

Your immigration reform plan cannot make America great, because we the people are already making America great. We are a nation of immigrants, and we will continue to be a nation of bright, diligent and supportive immigrants whether or not you get elected. I’m moving forward and I cannot wait till you hear the American voters as a collective people tell you, “you’re fired.”

Reach Contributor Melanie Vera here, or follow her on Twitter.

--

--