Bimala Rai

Liza Paudel
Nepali Women in the US
3 min readSep 15, 2015

Utica, NY

Bimala came to the States with her father, mother and sister leaving her studies behind when she was in the 11th grade. She is currently in high school.

“New York Cityमा झर्यो, अनि ठुलो ठुलो building देख्दा सोच्थ्यो, हामी बस्ने ठाउँ पनि त्यस्तै होला भनेर। Utica मा झर्दा त तर्सेको! राति आइपुग्यो, अनि बिहान उठेर हेर्दा त हिउँ पो पर्दै रैछ त! सेतै छ त हौ सेतै! फिल्म मा देखेथ्यो, फुरूरु पर्दो रैछ असिना जस्तै!”

(“We landed in New York City and when we saw the huge buildings, we thought the place where we were going to stay was going to be similar. When we landed in Utica the next day, I was shocked! We got in at night, and when I looked outside in the morning, it was snowing! It was all white! I had seen it in movies — it falls so softly, just like hail!”)

“जोरो आइन्जेल गाह्रो भाको नि first पालि मा त! सुरुको दिन स्कूल जाँदा त बौला जस्तो हिंडेको हिंड्यै। कुन क्लास जाने थाहा छैन अनि क्लास पुगिसकेपछि पनि हिंडेको हिंड्यै! घर जाउँ भने पनि बाटो थाहा छैन।अनि Admissionको कोठा देखेपछि डरको लेखि नै start गर्नुपर्छ भनेर एउटा क्लास मा गएर बसेँ। फेरी Lunch हुँदा खेरी कस्तो, अमेरिकनहरु कोहि पिज्जा खान गाको छ, कोहि कता गाको छ, म त बिदा भयो भनेर खुशी भएर बाहिर निस्केको! कसैलाई सोधुम भने पनि English छैन! जहाँ जान्छ त्यहीँ पुग्छ भनेर, पुलीसलाई भेट्यो भने भनौंला भनेर गएँ। धन्न घर नजिकैको zoo देखेँ छिटै अनि यत्रो लामो सास फेरेर दौडीदै गएँ घर। घरमा त राति जोरै आयो!”

(“It was feverishly difficult in the beginning. The first day of school, I just kept walking around like a madman. I didn’t know which classroom to go to, so I kept walking past my classroom. I didn’t know the way to go home either. Finally, I saw the admission room and just out of fear, went and sat down in the nearest classroom. Then again at lunch, all the Americans went outside — some went to get pizza, some went somewhere else, I thought school was over! I got really excited and left the building! I didn’t know enough English to ask anyone anything, so I just thought I’ll go wherever the roads go and if I see a policeman, I will explain everything. Thank heavens I saw the zoo near my house soon enough. I took a long breath, and ran straight home! That night I ran a fever!”)

“त्यहि क्लासमा ३ monthसम्म बसेर पनि नचिनेको ल! एक बर्ष गाह्रो भयो, बोलेको केहि बुझ्थेन! टिचरले हातले के गर्छ हेरेर सार्यो, अनि घर गएर हेरेर पढ्यो। नम्बरको भरमा क्लास पास गर्यो ल! अहिले चाहिं चिन्छु। राम्रो छ। पहिलेकै टिचर हुनुहुन्छ। कस्तो होला है, त्यहि टिचर पहिले नबुझ्ने, अहिले बुझ्ने!”

(“I was in the same classroom for 3 months, and I still would not recognize the room! The first year was really difficult, I could not understand anything people said! I would just copy what the teacher wrote, and try to understand it at home. I passed class just based on numbers! Now, I understand. It’s good. I still have the same teacher. It is so strange, it is the same teacher that I did not understand before that I do now!”)

“नेपाल भन्दा सजिलै रैछ।”

(“It is easier than in Nepal.”)

--

--