Coffee Data Science

Coffee Book Survey Says…

A breakdown of a coffee book Kickstarter survey

Robert McKeon Aloe
Nerd For Tech

--

I self published a book on espresso using Kickstarter, and I asked some survey questions to better understand the people backing my project. I wanted to share that information with everyone else as I love a good data story.

Firstly, there was a good distribution amongst self-prescribed experience levels.

I asked about future topics of interest, and there was a good variety. I think espresso and coffee naturally have a lot of areas that could be interesting.

I wanted to know about roasting because coffee roasting yourself can provide a great deal of insight into what you’re drinking.

Equipment

Espresso and coffee always seems to be a field where people are constantly looking for their next upgrade. In this case, 25% of people were satisfied with their setup, but many were looking to upgrade their grinder. This question allowed multiple responses.

In terms of coffee machines, many people had high end coffee machines and grinders. This may indicate that there are fewer beginners that I accounted for or that more experienced people backed the campaign sooner as some of these questions went to the early backers only.

As for costs, most people had put a good bit of money into grinders, and a few people had more than one.

Still, people have dreams of the best upgrade they could get. Many said they had what they wanted, and there was a spread amongst what machines people wanted.

Another Book?

Finally, I wanted to know how people would perceive another book, and it looks like many people would, so it is a good thing I’ve continued writing articles and started to put together another book.

I have really enjoyed the journey of publishing a book even though there have been plenty of challenges. Most of them are a matter of doing the next piece and setting aside anxiety. I’m glad people had a good response to the survey which allowed for a bit of insight, so thank you to everyone who responded to the survey.

If you like, follow me on Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram where I post videos of espresso shots on different machines and espresso related stuff. You can also find me on LinkedIn. You can also follow me on Medium and Subscribe.

Further readings of mine:

My Book

My Links

Collection of Espresso Articles

A Collection of Work and School Stories

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe
Nerd For Tech

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.