Easily Transfering Your Files Between Android and PC

Handhika Yanuar Pratama
Nerd For Tech
Published in
4 min readAug 5, 2023
Photo by Hunter Harritt on Unsplash

It’s been a long day; I’m not writing on Medium. But, let’s keep the consistency by writing very simple things.

Are you an Android, especially a Xiomai user? If True, this article is meant for you. This brand is not well-known as iPhone, but this trick will be very helpful. In 2021, I realized that USB is outdated for transferring files from a phone to a laptop. Apple knows it, so they have Airdrop. But for me, why do we need to spend $$$ just for transfer convenience if we could still access these features with cheaper technology?

Yeah, here is the product. SHAREME.

The name already describes what the application is. I think we could only use it for phone-to-phone. But this day, my fixed mindset is broken by this very simple invention. That already existed a very long time ago. Sorry, I was too excited to know these features. Okay, let’s go to the story.

The Problem

I like to take pictures, but I feel asdfghjkl whenever to remove useless images from my phone. This laziness makes my phone memory full (I believe this is the problem for every modern smartphone). Look at this image below; my pictures are already 10k, and the video is about 400.

Deleting pictures from my phone is very time waste. Isn’t it if I remove all from my phone because I should select which pictures are the best and which ones need to be deleted, or should I remove them all?

The Idea

From the problem, I found that Shareme is a transfer application, such as Airdrop. It could connect to your PC. Here is the scenario.

File Transfer Protocol is a protocol to transfer files within a network. It uses internet speed and could be faster than Bluetooth because it is more stable when transferring files.

The Solution

Here is the step-by-step method for transferring images from your Android phone to your PC.

1. Open ShareMe and click the three bars in the right above, then Share to PC.

2. Ensure you are using the same WiFi Network; if you don’t connect to any network, the display will be like this.

3. Okay, if you are already connected to any WiFi, it will be like this, click on the Start button at the bottom of the app.

4. You will be asked whether you choose a secure or portable connection; since I use my home WiFi, I don’t worry anyone will access my data. If you want to secure it, just give it a password.

5. The FTP will be displayed on your phone.

6. Open MyFiles, and in the directory location, copy the FTP location, and you can access your files from your PC.

Congratulations, you can manage your files easily right now. For your information, since it uses FTP, you can access it not from one device only; you can access the data from multiple devices.

The Conclusion

I was very happy writing this story, not because the story was useful, but because I could break my writing block finally. After about three months, I stopped writing on Medium, meaning I should and could consistently write again. Well, I hope this article, Easily Transfering Your Files Between Android and PC, will be Useful; thanks for reading.

--

--

Handhika Yanuar Pratama
Nerd For Tech

Live the Way the Life ask for || A Stoic Engineer || Technical Writer || Runner x Dreamer