How to Record Videos for Your Game in Unity

Tari Ibaba
Nerd For Tech
Published in
2 min readNov 30, 2021

What tool do you use when you need to create promotional videos and trailers for your game?

The Unity Recorder allows you to easily create videos from your gameplay right in the Editor.

I’ll show you how I use it in this article.

First, you need to install it using the Package Manager.

Unity Recorder, already installed in my project

Launch the recorder by selecting General > Recorder > Recorder Window from the Window menu item.

This brings up the Recorder Window

As you can see, I’ve already added a Movie Recorder by clicking on the Add Recorder button and selecting Movie from the dropdown. There are quite a lot of options here, which I won’t be explaining. You can find out more about them in the link at the end of this article.

Now all I need to do is to click the Start Recording button and I can begin recording high-quality videos of my current scene, which goes into Play Mode if it isn’t in it already.

And here’s one of the videos I created with it:

For more information and a more detailed tutorial on how to use the Unity Recorder:

What other ways do you use to record videos in your game project? Let me know by leaving a comment below!

--

--