Mobile Games In Unity: Perspective vs Orthographic Camera: Parallax

Gerald Clark
Nerd For Tech
Published in
2 min readAug 15, 2021

In this article I want to go over a really cool way to bring this level to life using parallax. Right now when I move my camera on the X axis, the level moves, sure, but theres no depth. Its all moving by at the same time, but we obviously have different layers.

First I want to set my camera form an Orthographic projection to a Perspective projection.

Now the camera is zoomed in nice and close. This will be a good perspective for a mobile game since our focus will be on the player.

Now all I need to do is select each layer in the hierarchy and set their Z positions. The foreground layer will be 0, the background will be 1, and the far ground will be 3. Now when I move I get a really nice feeling of a parallax environment with plenty of depth for more realism.

In the next articles I’ll be covering how to set up the player and start building this game!

--

--

Gerald Clark
Nerd For Tech

Father Game Developer Music Composer Sound Designer